Why does America insist on remaking foreign films? Do they think we are incapable of reading subtitles? I could understand if it was because the films are so amazing that they want to tell the story in their eyes - but we know that's not true because if that was the case they wouldn't just make a virtual scene for scene remake.
I was watching The Ring yesterday, and to be honest I don't mind the remake, I absolutely love the scene where the girl comes out of the tv - that is terrifying - but it lacks the underlying fear that runs throughout the whole version of the Japanese original Ringu. The American version is far far too polished, like we have to have everything explained and worked out because we can't have our own interpretations of events.
The American-isation - or ruining as I call it - of Japanese horror continued with The Grudge and Dark Water also being told through Hollywood's eyes. I think Dark Water was the closest to capturing the darkness that Japanese horror seems to so natural display. Girls with hair over their faces and water plays a big part in these horrors and the originals seem to have this strange sense of dampness in their movies that the American big production remakes just clean up. You almost feel like you are in the well with the girl in Ringu for the whole movie. There's a subtleness - is that a word? I think it is but I'm looking at it and I'm not convinced, anyway it's my blog I can do what I want - that Hollywood lack at times.
The worst of all the remakes is by a million miles Quarantine. It took the Spanish film Rec - which is a visceral horror filmed on a camcorder putting you right in the apartment block as all manner of horrific events take place. Quarantine doesn't look to retell the story or add a spin on it, they retell it pretty much scene for scene - what is the point in that?! Seriously why bother. It's already been done and it's a million times better than what you have just made. Please don't watch Quarantine.
Let The Right One In is one of my favourite films. It's a beautiful, innocent love story about a young boy who is a loner and bullied at school and a mysterious new girl who moves in next door. The horror elements are done brilliantly, it feels like it's not a horror film you are watching. When I heard it was being remade, and called Let Me In, I was not impressed, I watched it, mainly so I could tell everyone the original is better. It's not a scene for scene rip off like Quarantine but it just doesn't have the innocence that Let The Right One In has. The ending to Tomas Alfredson's masterpiece is fantastic, you don't see a thing but you know that all hell has broken loose above the surface as we watch Oskar struggle in the pool. Please please watch Let The Right One In if you haven't already.
I've since read that Martyrs is going to be remade - do NOT watch the American version film fans. I beg you. I'm here on my knees begging. Martyrs is a sublime film that is utterly horrific and makes no attempt to apologise for this from the minute it starts to the second it ends. Hollywood will go over the top and make it a gore fest without a message and it will suck.
Am I the only one worried at the lack of originality in Hollywood right now?
No comments:
Post a Comment