Thursday, 3 November 2011

The crying game

Now I'm man enough to admit I cry when watching some movies. There are some scenes in films I still have to skip through so as not to end up in a blabbering wreck - the scene where Mufasa dies in The Lion King, truly horrific. Cannot watch that scene otherwise I'm sobbing like a baby. I think we can all relate to that, unless you are dead inside!

From an early age I was having to hide the fact I cry at films, E.T - the ending, again in tears, snot everywhere! It's not pleasant. I used to walk out the room, pretend I was going to the toilet or something. It fooled no-one, everybody knew what I was doing and the mockery started!! Joy!

So I started to ask myself is there something wrong with me or am I infact just becoming immersed in films and finding that connection that so many people don't?! - now of course I didn't ask myself this after watching The Lion King, I was nine, but you catch my drift.

So I gave into the whole crying like a child thing and let it happen. I opened a gate and now it's impossible to shut. Literally a flood of tears has happened since.

Good Will Hunting, the whole 'it's not your fault' scene. Yep, streaming tears. Now they way I see it, if Matt Damon is crying his eyes out, it's ok for me to as well, right?!

Now when Titanic came out, everybody was crying at that film so I figured I was probably going to too. You know what, I didn't! At all. That was a big breakthrough for me, showed I only cry when a film is that powerful. I'm not an unstable person who cries when they forget to turn the light off on their way to work. Progress!!

The last film to have me in tears was Up - clearly animation is a weak point for me - but I defy anyone to watch that opening scene and not shed a tear. That is a magnificent opening to an animation film, hell any film! It's beautiful, moving and very poignant and I read in Empire they were crying too so I knew I was in good company!!

Well thanks for letting me share that little, if you know me badly kept, secret and I'm sure I'm not the only one to cry at films. Just know it's not a bad thing! It shows you have a heart.

Unless you cry at Serendipity.

That's just pathetic!

No comments:

Post a Comment